Rossotrudnichestvo is actively participating in the BRICS programs in the course of Russia's Chairmanship year

Compressed file

BRICS is a group of five countries, namely, the Federative Republic of Brazil, the Russian Federation, the Republic of India, the People’s Republic of China and the Republic of South Africa.

Rossotrudnichestvo cooperates with the BRICS countries in assisting international development. In the course of Russia's Chairmanship year Rossotrudnichestvo envisages to involve wider public in further integration, including in the country’s regions.

The theme of Russian BRICS Chairmanship in 2020 will be “BRICS Strategic Partnership for Global Stability, Shared Security and Innovative Growth”. The main goal is to secure higher standards and life quality for the peoples of the five countries by deepening BRICS strategic partnership.

Rossotrudnichestvo takes part in expert meetings of senior BRICS officials responsible for implementing assistance programs in their countries. In the course of these meetings, already held in 2015 in Moscow and in 2016 in Delhi, the parties discussed national mechanisms and public administration in this area, sectoral and geographical priorities, efficiency assessment methodology and aid flows management. The next meeting of senior officials within Russian BRICS Chairmanship is scheduled for 2020.

The five countries regularly carry out forums of sister cities and municipalities aimed at maintaining multilateral contacts. Such meetings were held in 2016 in Mumbai (India), in 2017 in Chengdu (China), in 2018 in East London (South Africa). BRICS adopted a series of declarations on the cities’ role: Goa Declaration (India, 2016), BRICS Leaders Xiamen Declaration (China, 2017), 10th BRICS Summit Johannesburg Declaration (South Africa, 2018), 11th BRICS Summit Brasilia Declaration (Brazil, 2019).

In 2020, Kazan will host the BRICS Forum of Twin Cities and Local Governments organized by the Government of the Republic of Tatarstan, Kazan city administration and Rossotrudnichestvo. The main theme of the Forum is “Achieving the sustainable development goals in modern cities”.

Rossotrudnichestvo annually selects BRICS countries’ students for full-time study at Russian universities funded from the federal budget. According to the classification of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, Russian expenditure on developing countries’ students education falls under the category of official development assistance.

With the support of the Russian Ministries of Foreign Affairs and of Culture and Rossotrudnichestvo, the five countries have also founded a Regional public organization “BRICS. World of Traditions”. It aims at exploring, preserving and promoting the cultural heritage, the artistic heritage, the BRICS countries’ national cultural traditions, elaborating and implementing multilateral humanitarian projects within the alliance.

The Organization’s program “Parade of Traditions of the Peoples of BRICS”, involved the five countries passing each other the baton of “Great BRICS Teachers” peacekeeping cultural and research expeditions. The project’s goals include getting familiar with the traditions, culture, history, mentality of the country, as well as with the life and work of five great peacekeepers, and popularizing their heritage in the BRICS and other countries. The project is also intended to build positive, respectful and trusting relations between nations, promote moral ideas and philosophies as the basis for settling disputes in a peaceful, civilized way.

You can find more information on BRICS-dedicated events of Rossotrudnichestvo representative offices here.

The “International Affaires” journal has released an issue on Russian BRICS Chairmanship in 2020, containing information about Russian priorities in three main areas of the Organization’s strategic partnership - political, economic and humanitarian ones.